The 7 Spiritual Laws of Success – Deepak Chopra

What is success? The ability to fulfil your desires with little effort and the journey in which abundance flows towards you.


Deepak Chopra’s book looks at the spiritual elements that are necessary to achieve true success and the application in daily life, in all situations.

This is an extremely well explained short read and definitely inspires thought and meditation.  Below is the summary of the seven laws and how they can be applied in daily living.

  • The Law of Pure Potentiality: This is the field of all possibilities and infinite creativity.  It can be experienced through silence and through appreciation of nature .  We should recognise that our basic being is spiritual.   Take time daily to just be, meditate and experience silence and practice non-judgement .
  • The Law of Giving (and receiving): Whatever you want to receive, you should give it…generously, this applies to material and immaterial things – friendship, love, a smile!
    • Shona Equivalent: kandiro kanoenda kunobva kamwe.
  • The Law of Karma: “You reap what you sow”. The critical thing to remember is that for every action and decision  taken, the effect will come back to you – but you ALWAYS have a choice to make good or bad actions and decisions.  So be conscious in decision making.
  • The Law of Least Effort: When your actions are inspired by love and you’re in harmony with the knowledge of yourself, all actions appear effortless.  This is achieved though acceptance (people, things, events are what they are), taking responsibility (not blaming others) and defencelessness (allowing flexibility for correction of your actions or thoughts, from others)
  • The Law of Intention and Desire:  Intention is desire without attachment.  Attention triggers transformation i.e. whatever you put your attention to, you can improve/transform.  Keep a list of your intentions and desires, share it with none and detach from the outcome.  Use this list for meditation and together with knowledge of self (as above).
  • The Law of Detachment: Detachment is freedom to create.  Go with the flow. Attachment (to symbols, e.g material objects) comes from poverty consciousness, whereas detachment is wealth consciousness.  Any physical thing can be acquired through detachment.  Going with the flow puts you in the realms of the unknown.  And uncertainty is the fertile ground of pure creativity.
  • The Law of Dharma : We all have a  purpose and responsibility that we’re here to fulfil.  Find it – what are you talents? what can you do to help others?


For more information:



Six Thinking Hats – Edward de Bono



What’s this book about?

This book has been classed in the genres of psychology/business.  It presents a workflow to be used in thinking through problems using 6 distinct stages, or putting on 6 different “types of hats”, in an effort to maximise the use of your/your groups intelligence and experience.

The book emphasises how thinking/thought process is a skill and can be learned, trained and improved.

More info on the authors website:

My summary

“The biggest enemy of thinking is complexity, which leads to confusion”

The 6 hats remove the complexity of the thought process.

The hats indicate a direction of thinking, and as such should be referred to by their colour and not function.  The colour refers to ideas and thoughts, NOT people.

Human beings cannot think in more than one direction at the same time, so these hats help to focus the brain in one direction, before moving onto the next.  This helps to go around the natural biases of the brain and not could thought with emotion, judgement and ego.

The 6 hats method allows one to:

  1. Think in one direction at a time
  2. Switch between different directions of thinking when necessary

The 6 hats are to be used one at a time and in a sequence.  Note that not all hats need to be used and the sequence can be pre-set (best if you’re trying it for the first few times) or evolutionary.

It may be worth noting, that in a group scenario, controlling the amount of time per hat may be useful, to ensure the discussion remains objective.  You can always come back to another hat.


 The WHITE Hat

  • Neutral and Objective
    • Based on Facts, verifiable figures, opinions
    • Facts can be proven or unchecked
  • Questions (e.g.):
    • What info do we need? What info do we have?
  • Cue: Paper (i.e. Information Only)

The RED Hat

  • Emotional
    • NEVER justify them
    • Rage, anger, suspicion, hunches, intuition, GUT
  • Questions (e.g.):
    • How do I feel about this? How do I feel now I’ve resolved….?
  • Cue: Fire (e.g Warmth)


  • Serious; Sombre; Skeptic
    • Questions EVERYTHING
    • Survivalist, cautious, careful
    • Points out weaknesses
    • Questions values and ethics
  • Questions (e.g.):
    • Are the facts correct? Is that the only course of action? What are the risks?
  • Cue: rock (i.e. resilient, slow changing)


  • Positive, Optimistic
    • Sees the good
    • Value Sensitive
      • Puts a value on good ideas
    • Displays hope LOGICALLY, i.e will still need to result in value
  • Questions (e.g.):
    • What if?
    • What are the positive aspects?
  • Cue: The Sun (i.e. bright)

 The GREEN Hat

  • Growth
    • Creativity, explores possibilities, forward thinking, change
    • Seeks out provocations
    • New ideas
      • modify or improve
  • Questions (e.g.):
    • What are the alternatives? What does the future hold?
  • Cue: The Grass (i.e. vegetation, abundant, blooming)

The BLUE Hat

  • Control/Organisation
    • Facilitation
    • This is a permanent “role” in a though process, it ensures structure is maintained in the thought process
  • Questions (e.g.)
    • What is to be achieved?
    • What “hats” are yet to be considered? or revisited?
  • Cue: The sky (i.e. Overview, above all)


Where can you get the book?

I read the hard copy, purchased from Amazon.  As there are no visual aspects in the book, I would also recommend listening to it as an audiobook.

Picture from :